My Thoughts:

It's the One That IS Going to Change the World

My Latest Musical Obsession: Jonny Diaz! January 18, 2011

Filed under: Word of God speak... — tennischick21 @ 5:04 am

Dear people of the Internet,

If you’ve never heard the wonderment that is Jonny Diaz, go check him out! He has some fantastic music! If I do say so myself at least! (: Jonny Diaz!

Anyway, anyone who knows me knows that I’m convinced everything happens for a very specific, divine reason. (And if you didn’t know that, congratulations, ’cause you just learned something new today!) (: And this current writing of mine is no different. (1) I can’t sleep even though I’ve been sick the past couple of days. (2) I was laying in my bed trying to sleep. Without success. (3) I put my iPod in my ears… well, the headphones connected to it at least. (4) I put my iPod on shuffle. (5) Jonny Diaz’s More Beautiful You “magically” came on my iPod. (6) Through another few irrelevant steps, this has been formed. Coincidence? I think absolutely not!

~                      ~
~~~                  ~~~
~~~~~              ~~~~~
~~~~~~~          ~~~~~~~
~~~~~              ~~~~~
~~~                  ~~~
~                      ~
*
***
*****
*******
*********
***********
*********
*******
*****
***
*
~                      ~
~~~                  ~~~
~~~~~              ~~~~~
~~~~~~~          ~~~~~~~
~~~~~              ~~~~~
~~~                  ~~~
~                      ~

“Downtown you see the lights are blinding
They caught your eye and made you lose your way
I’m here to tell you that you can’t keep hiding
You cannot outrun the arms of grace”
~Nashville

*
***
*****
*******
*********
***********
*********
*******
*****
***
*

“I wish that you could see
That beauty is within your heart
And you were made with such care your skin your body and your hair
Are perfect just the way they are
There could never be a more beautiful you
Don’t buy the lies disguises and hoops they make you jump through
You were made to fill a purpose that only you could do
So there could never be a more beautiful you

You starve yourself to play the part
But I can promise you there’s a man whose love is true
And he’ll treat you like the jewel you are

So turn around you’re not too far
To back away be who you are
To change your path go another way
It’s not too late you can be saved
If you feel depressed with past regrets
The shameful nights hope to forget
Can disappear they can all be washed away
By the one who’s strong can right your wrongs
Can rid your fears dry all your tears
And change the way you look at this big world
He will take your dark distorted view
And with His light He will show you truth
And again you’ll see through the eyes of a little girl”
-More Beautiful You

*
***
*****
*******
*********
***********
*********
*******
*****
***
*

“Try to pray bow my head but life gets in the way
And  I don’t even know what to say
What I’d give for a change
How long will it be this way

This complacency is wearing on me
All my passions turned to apathy
I could get up and follow you
And find my faith from before
Don’t know what I’m waiting for

I have done what I thought I should
All these years that I’ve spent serving you
Tell me how did I end up like this
With doubt in my heart and my hands in a fist
Maybe you shining white or a blood red sun
Maybe some other sign that may never come
Maybe I must believe before I can see
What I’m waiting for”
-What I’m Waiting For
*
***
*****
*******
*********
***********
*********
*******
*****
***
*
“Here in this waiting room yearning for You to say go
And though I’m convinced that a yes would be best
This time You’re telling me no

It’s not that I don’t have an answer
It’s just not the one that I’d like
But through this time Lord I must keep in mind
You’re always wiser than I

You have a much better purpose
And You have a far greater plan
And You have a bigger perspective
Cause You hold this world in your hands

The things that I seek are from You
Like the strong healing touch of your hand
But when You say no help me trust even though
There’s a reason I can’t understand

When that miracle comes cause Your answer is yes
I will praise you for all of my days
But when Your wisdom declares that a no is best
I will praise You just the same”

-Waiting Room
*
***
*****
*******
*********
***********
*********
*******
*****
***
*
“So long politics it’s time to start being me
Take the chains off my lips it’s time to set my tongue free
Some might just turn their heads but some will raise a fist
And You told me to stand so I won’t back down from this
They say there are no absolutes but are they absolutely sure?

Hello reality it’s time we embrace honesty
Teach me to speak with truth and love and with humility
You made a promise that You’re coming back to earth
So how selfish am I if I don’t go tell the world
They say just be sincere but could they all just be sincerely wrong?

They might remove Your name from money
But You own it all the same
They kicked You out of school that’s funny
Cause how could You go away?
In a land that’s built upon Your word
It’s amazing You’ve been banned
To think that we control You is absurd
So for truth I’m here to stand”

-I’ll Stand For You
*
***
*****
*******
*********
***********
*********
*******
*****
***
*

“And though there’s nothing wrong with chasing innovation
You’re the only one that’s ever changed my life
We are living in a world that longs for change
‘Cause we’re all searching for a love that will remain
Yeah the day will come when we’ll see love and its beautiful face
But we’re all living in a world that soon will fade”
-Soon Will Fade
*
***
*****
*******
*********
***********
*********
*******
*****
***
*
“There is just one thing that fills me up
One thing that’s true
There is just one thing that satisfies
That one thing is You”
-One Thing
*
***
*****
*******
*********
***********
*********
*******
*****
***
*
“Help me to love like You loved
To serve like You served
To speak only words of truth
Help me to care like You cared
For a world in despair
Help me to love like You”
-Love Like You Loved
*
***
*****
*******
*********
***********
*********
*******
*****
***
*
“I cannot really hold You but I feel You in my life
Oh how I long to see You but You’re somewhere out of sight
Oh I know that I am blind but where I’m going in the end
You’ll open up my eyes so I can see the wind”
-See The Wind
~                      ~
~~~                  ~~~
~~~~~              ~~~~~
~~~~~~~          ~~~~~~~
~~~~~              ~~~~~
~~~                  ~~~
~                      ~
*
***
*****
*******
*********
***********
*********
*******
*****
***
*
~                      ~
~~~                  ~~~
~~~~~              ~~~~~
~~~~~~~          ~~~~~~~
~~~~~              ~~~~~
~~~                  ~~~
~                      ~
It would be only too easy to write all my opinions and applications of these chosen songs and/or pieces of songs to my life. But I do that enough with my other topics… These are only some of many absolutely terrific works (again… in my opinion). So, instead, I encourage you and possibly challenge you to go check out Jonny Diaz’s music. Make your own opinions and life applications if you want. Then, if you really want to know mine, we’ll talk. Until then, just enjoy. (:
(:
 

Leave a Reply

